Georgie Fame – One Cool Cat…

Georgie Fame is a national treasure… and one very cool cat.

As Record Collector magazine said of him, “It’s imperative not to trust anyone who doesn’t love Georgie Fame” and this new release due on 25 November 2016 is the conclusive proof.

The definitive Georgie Fame box set - Survival – A Career Anthology 1963-2015 will include six discs featuring 110 tracks (18 previously unreleased), spanning more than five decades and including all Georgie’s hit singles (three UK chart-toppers among them), as well as notable B-sides and rarities (including his very first instrumental recordings as a band leader).

Order-Now” width=

One look at the track list will confirm Fame’s eye for a great song, and this is something that has always been central to his career. He’s been called a 'musician’s musician', and in part because Georgie has always chosen to put quality above quantity. After recording for CBS he moved on to Island Records and made records that forced Island's boss, Chris Blackwell to remark that Georgie was just too eclectic. Georgie shrugged and moved ever forward. Now that’s cool. He started his own label, more than once, began to operate on his own terms, his own timescale.

Among the gems included here are Fame’s exquisite ‘Eros Hotel’, a song co-written by Georgie that recalls the glory days of jazz in Soho. – it’s a beauty. Then there’s ‘Vinyl’, Fame’s brilliant song in praise of the black stuff, that was prescient to say the least, and there’s another of Georgie’s song, ‘Rhythm King’ that perfectly describes life in a working band, and on the road. We could go on…

Aside from his own songs there are a whole mass of covers, all become something fresh and original in Fame’s hands. Tunes by the likes of Ray Charles, the Gershwins, Hoagy Carmichael, Willie Dixon, Allen Toussaint, J.J. Cale, Marc Benno, Elvis Costello and many more of the best songwriters around.

The unreleased tracks include six CBS-era gems (recorded between 1967 and 1970), five numbers from the Island Records sessions captured in the USA in 1974 and 1976, and seven tracks from a live show at the Lyceum, London, in September 1974.

Georgie has a very generous spirit and right from the start, he took it upon himself to spread the word. When he heard a great record, his first thought was that he wanted others to experience the magic of it, just like he had. That’s how you’ll feel listening to this collection.

Come on all you cool cats, the time to order is now…

Order-Now” width=


1. The Blue Flames - Orange Street
2. The Blue Flames - Rik’s Tune
3. The Blue Flames - Money (That’s What I Want)
4. Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames - Let The Sunshine In
5. Georgie Flame & the Blue Flames - Night Train
6. Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames - Work Song
7. Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames -Tom Hark Goes Blue Beat
8. Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames - Madness
9. Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames - Get On The Right Track Baby
10. Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames - Green Onions
11. Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames - Gimme That Wine
12. Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames - Yeh-Yeh
13. Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames - You’re Drivin’ Me Crazy (alternative version)
14. Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames - Saturday Night Fish Fry
15. Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames - In The Meantime
16. Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames - Blue Monday
17. Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames - Outrage
18. Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames - High Heel Sneakers
19. Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames - Sweet Thing
20. Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames - Sitting In The Park
21. Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames - My Girl
22. Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames - Soul Stomp
23. Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames - El Bandido
24. Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames – Getaway
25. Georgie Fame & the Harry South Big Band - Papa’s Got A Brand New Bag
26. Georgie Fame & the Harry South Big Band - Funny How Time Slips Away
27. Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames - Sunny

TRY MY WORLD – 1967-71

1. Because I Love You
2. Try My World
3. Knock On Wood
4. El Pussycat
5. River’s Invitation
6. Close The Door
7. Beware Of The Dog
8. The Ballad Of Bonnie & Clyde
9. This Is Always
10. Peaceful
11. Somebody Stole My Thunder
12 Someday Man
13. Georgie Fame and Alan Price - Time I Moved On
14. Fully Booked
15. Bidin’ My Time (Cos I Love You)
16. Fool's Paradise
17. A Waiting Time
18. Tell It Like It Is (take 4)
19. Entertaining Mr Sloane (Main Theme Backing Track)
20. Entertaining Mr Sloane (Theme Two)
21. Bluesology
Tracks 16-21 previously unreleased

MOVE IT ON UP – 1972-76

1. Seven Power
2. Everlovin' Woman
3. Ozone
4. Leaving The City Behind
5. Ali Shuffle, Round Two
6. Lily
7. Thanking Heaven
8. Daylight (alternate version) previously unreleased
9. Do I Love You
10. Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames - Three Legged Mule
11. Barefootin’
12. Call Up the Devil
13. Hall Street Jive
14. California Girl
15. Cool Cat Blues
16. It's Not Supposed To Be That Way
17. Move It On Up previously unreleased
18. Hot Stuff
19. Tempo Feliz previously unreleased
20. Getaway previously unreleased
21. I Am What I Am previously unreleased
22. Little Ones (aka Ickle Ones) previously unreleased


1. Country Morning
2. Ali Shuffle, Round Two
3. I Love the Life I Live
4. Parchman Farm
5. Point Of No Return
6. Medley: You Can't Sit Down / Last Night
7. One Whole Year Baby unreleased
8. Lovely Day
9. That’s What Friends Are For
10. Sitting in the Park
11. Little Samba
12. Funny How Time Slips Away
13. Eros Hotel
14. The Hurricane (part 2)
Tracks 1-7 previously unreleased


1. Jumpin' with Symphony Syd
2. Rocking Chair
3. Roll With My Baby
4. That's The Way It Goes
5. I Love The Life I Live
6. Survival
7. The Woodshed
8. Tuned In To You
9. How Long Has This Been Going On?
10. Passed Me By
11. A Declaration of Love

RHYTHM KING – 1993-2015

1. Charleston Walk
2. You Are There
3. Flamingo Allnighter
4. Rhythm King
5. Everybody's Guessin'
6. Mose Knows
7. Since I Fell For You
8. The Ballad of Bonnie and Clyde
9. Vinyl
10. Anthem For A Band
11. Rollin' Blue
12. Wide-Eyed and Legless
13. Guantanamo by the Sea
14. Say When
15. My Ship

Follow us on Twitter for the latest music news, stories, quizzes, playlists and our big prize music competitions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *