Jon Anderson Is Officially A Prog God

Jon Anderson was guest of honour at last night's (1 September) Progressive Music Awards 2016, where he was named Prog God for his long career with Yes and other collaborators including Vangelis and Reine Stolt (main image: Deborah Anderson).

PMA-585x513-Logo-CURRENCIES-2016The awards, in association with, were held at the Underglobe, beneath Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre, and as ever featured a strong turnout of the genre's best-known names. Anderson's recognition precedes his reunion with former colleagues Rick Wakeman and Trevor Rabin for a tour from October as ARW.


King Crimson's Jakko Jakszyk with his Chris Squire Virtuoso award, presented by Adrian Edmondson

Other winners included Colosseum's Jon Hiseman, who received the Visionary award; Buggles, who as reported earlier this week on uDiscover, won the Outer Limits title; Jakko Jakszyk of King Crimson, who took the Chris Squire Virtuoso award; Andy Summers, formerly of the Police, who was named Guiding Light; and Van Der Graaf Generator, who were handed the Lifetime Achievement title.

iamthemorning's Lighthouse was named Album of the Year, with Big Big Train taking both Band of the Year and Live Event. The Mute Gods were awarded with the Vanguard trophy, with Riverside's 'Towards The Blue Horizon' as Anthem of the year and the Anchoress winners of the Limelight award. The Storm Thorgerson Grand Design Award went to the Esoteric label's reissue series of the catalogue of former Genesis co-founder Anthony Phillips.

Follow us on Twitter for the latest music news, stories, quizzes, playlists and our big prize music competitions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *